Accessibility

Accessibility

One of the aims of the Theatre Royal Plymouth Regeneration Project in 2013 was to greatly improve accessibility, this included:

  • Accessible toilets on all four floors – including The Lab in the basement (radar key required)
  • No external steps to the front entrance
  • Steps replaced by a ramp and a lift on the ground floor
  • All counters have a lower section for wheelchair users

For patrons who are unable to attend performances unless accompanied; upon purchase of a ticket, an additional seat is available free of charge for the companion (on MOST shows and Subject to Availability).

When available, programme notes for audio described performances will be available two days before the performance and are available to download on the relevant show page.

For more specific information relating to disability access at the Theatre Royal Plymouth, please see the Disabled Go website.

On Stage Touch Tour

On-Stage Touch Tours are available on request and are ideal for patrons who are wheelchair users or have a visual or sight impairment. Lasting approximately one hour, they offer patrons an opportunity to be on-stage in both the The Lyric and The Drum to enjoy a sensory experience of sound and lighting effects, together with a chance to handle both props and costumes. Please call our Box Office on 01752 267222 if you wish to come along to this tour.

Assisted Performances (Captioned, Signed or Audio Described):

Grease

Audio Described
Wed 01 Nov 7.30pm

Caption
Thu 02 Nov 7.30pm

Elf

Caption
Wed 15 Nov 7.30pm

Audio Described
Thu 16 Nov 2.30pm

Nativity

Audio Described
Sat 09 Dec 2.30pm

Caption
Sat 09 Dec 9.30pm

Goldilock, Stock and Three Smoking Bears

Audio Described
Wed 13 Dec 7.45pm

Caption
Wed 20 Dec 7.45pm

Peter Pan

Audio Described
Thu 04 Jan 2018 7pm
Sat 13 Jan 2018 2:30pm

Caption
Sat 04 Jan 2018 7pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018 2:30pm

Signed
Sat 06 Jan 2.30pm

Relaxed Performance (signed and captioned)
Wed 10 Jan 12.30pm

Hairspray

Audio Described
18 Jan 2018 4.30pm

Son of a Preacher Man

Audio Described
Sat 27 Jan 2018 7.30pm

Captioned
Sat 27 Jan 2018 2.30pm

Matthew Bourne’s Cinderella

Audio Described
Fri 02 Feb 2018 7.30pm

Napoleon Disrobed

Audio Described
Mon 05 Feb 2018 7.45pm

Caption
Thu 08 Feb 2018 7.45pm

Hamlet

Signed
Fri 09 Feb 2018 7.30pm

Audio Described
Sat 10 Feb 2018 7.30pm

The Importance of Being Earnest

Audio Described
Fri 16 Feb 2018 7.30pm

Captioned
Sat 17 Feb 2018 2.30pm

Jungle Book

Audio Described
Sat 07 April 2018 2.30pm

Jersey Boys

Caption
Wed 25 April 2018 7.3pm

Audio Described
Thu 20 April 2018 2.30pm

The Band

Audio Described
Fri 25 May 2018 5.30pm

Caption
Wed 23 May 2018 7.30pm

Love From a Stranger

Audio Described
Fri 01 June 2018 7.30pm

Caption
Sat 02 June 2018 2.30pm

Miss Saigon

Audio Described
Thu 19 July 2018 2.30pm

Signed
Thu 26 July 2018 2.30pm

Captioned
Wed 11 July 2018 7.30pm

The Comedy About a Bank Robbery

Captioned
Fri 05 Oct 2018 7.30pm

Audio Described
Sat

Frequently Asked Questions about assisted performances

How do I hear sound enhancement or Audio Descriptions?

Patrons can pick up a receiver approximately one hour before performances. Receivers come complete with headphones and will be tuned for either audio enhancement or audio description. Receivers with a neck loop attachment are available for patrons wearing hearing aids with a T setting. The system works using an infra-red signal. When booking your tickets, please let Box Office know if you plan to borrow a headset, as they can advise you on the best seats to receive a strong signal. Audio enhancement is available for all shows in The Lyric. Please see above for upcoming audio described performances.

What is Audio Description?

It is the art of translating visual images into verbal ones, carefully avoiding any interpretations.

How is it Audio Description done?

From a sound proof room at the back of the stalls. The describer watches the stage and simultaneously with the action, the description is relayed directly to anyone in the auditorium who is wearing a headset.

What is described?

Details that have a visual element – the action on stage – body language, facial expressions, all integrated as succinctly as possible so as not to impinge on dialogue or song. Ten minutes before curtain up the describer will relay programme notes. These include some background to the production, the cast list and a description of scenery and costumes.

What is caption?

Caption performances cater for a large number of people with a hearing loss for whom infra red systems and sign language interpretation are not completely satisfactory.

How is caption done?

A skilled operator inputs dialogue and sound effects, which is then transmitted to LED screens in the auditorium, positioned to the left and right of the stage.

What is signed?

A visual means of translating the spoken or sung word, using BSL (British Sign Language) and gestures for the deaf or hard of hearing.

What is a Sign Interpreted Performance?

A BSL interpreter will stand on the stage and give a sign interpretation of the text sung or spoken by the actors and singers on the stage. The signer will usually stand stage left.

The Theatre Royal Plymouth strives to make our facilities and performances as accessible to as wide an audience as possible. If you need communication support or more information, please contact the Theatre Manager on 01752 230318 or e-mail info@theatreroyal.com.