The Believers

The Believers Cast and Creative Biographies

Christopher Colquhoun

Christopher Colquhoun is best known for his long-running role as Dr. Simon Kaminski in Casualty. He trained at RADA and most recently he starred in The Color Purple at the Menier Chocolate Factory. His other theatre credits include A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre), Three Sisters (Royal Exchange, Manchester) and Saint Joan (National Theatre).

Penny Layden

Penny Layden’s theatre credits include Edward II, Table and Timon of Athens (all National Theatre) and her television credits include Silent Witness, Call the Midwife and Poppy Shakespeare.

Richard Mylan

Richard Mylan has previously starred in Coupling and Waterloo Road and has appeared on stage in Badfinger (Donmar Warehouse), Starlight Express (Apollo Victoria) as well as previous Frantic Assembly production Peep Show.

Eileen Walsh

Eileen Walsh appeared as Rosencrantz in Michael Sheen’s Hamlet, directed by Ian Rickson, at the Young Vic Theatre in 2011. Other theatre credits include the National Theatre’s Liola and Quiz Show at the Traverse in Edinburgh. In 2008 Eileen was awarded Best Actress at the Tribeca Film Festival for her portrayal of Breda in Eden.

Bryony Lavery (Writer) has previously worked with Frantic Assembly on Stockholm (Wolff-Whiting award for Best Play of 2008) and Beautiful Burnout (co-produced with the National Theatre of Scotland) which won a Fringe First at Edinburgh. Her other plays include Frozen (Birmingham Rep; winner of the TMA Best Play Award and nominated for 4 Tony awards when it was produced on Broadway), Kursk (with Sound and Fury at the Young Vic and Sydney Opera House), Cesario (National Theatre), Thursday (Adelaide Theatre), and an adaptation of Tales of the City/ More Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin for BBC Radio 4. Bryony is an honorary doctor of Arts at De Montfort University and a Fellow of The Royal Society of Literature.

Scott Graham (Director and Choreographer) is Artistic Director and co-founder of Frantic Assembly. He is the co-choreographer of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time for which he received an Olivier Award nomination for Best Theatre Choreographer. For Frantic, he has co-directed Little Dogs (with National Theatre Wales), Lovesong, Beautiful Burnout (with National Theatre of Scotland, Fringe First), Othello (TMA award – Best Direction), Stockholm, pool (no water), Dirty Wonderland, Rabbit, Peepshow and Underworld. Director/performer credits include Hymns, Tiny Dynamite, On Blindness, Heavenly, Sell Out, Zero, Flesh, Klub and Look Back in Anger. Scott Graham’s other directing credits include: Home (National Theatre of Scotland) and Ker-ching (Sixth Sense). He has also provided choreography and movement direction for Praxis Makes Perfect for National Theatre Wales; The Canticles at Brighton Festival/Aldeburgh Music; Port, Hothouse and Market Boy at the National Theatre; Dr Dee for Manchester International Festival/ ENO; Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella at the Unicorn; Frankenstein for the Royal & Derngate; The May Queen at Liverpool Everyman; Villette at Stephen Joseph Theatre; With Steven Hoggett and Bryony Lavery, he created It Snows, a National Theatre Connections play. With Steven Hoggett, he has written The Frantic Assembly Book of Devising Theatre (Routledge).