Since 2000 The Drum has established itself as a full-time space committed to producing and presenting the most exciting and original plays and performance theatre for Plymouth and the South West. In 2002 and again in 2005 The Drum was nominated for the Empty Space Peter Brook Award, the only national award for innovative smaller theatre spaces, which is awarded by a panel of the country’s leading theatre critics and producers. The Drum won the award in 2007.

We produce both new and established writers who have something to say about the current world around them and can challenge our ways of thinking. The Drum’s flexible space has been used to create eye-catching, ambitious and passionate pieces of work.

In recent years we have commissioned and produced new plays by Doug Lucie, Lucinda Coxon, Richard Cameron, Mike Bartlett, Dan Rebellato, Carl Grose, Chris Goode, Rona Munro, Nick Stimson and Glen Waldron. We have also premiered new plays in co-production by Bryony Lavery, Robin Soans, Aleky Blythe, Sara Ruhl, DC Moore, Roland Shimmelpfennig, and Abi Morgan. The co-producers have been some of the country’s leading theatre companies and innovators including the Royal Court, Paines Plough, ATC, Frantic Assembly and Hampstead Theatre.

The Drum has a number of on-going commissions with playwrights at any one time, along with development grants to help newer writers develop an idea to an early draft.

The theatre has a Playwright’s Forum made up of local and surrounding area playwrights who meet regularly to discuss writing plays, current productions and read extracts of each other’s work. The group have also had two projects of short plays in the Drum called Four Quarters and Downtown Dash.